IATF-16949 Cast Polyurethane Company

Poly-Tek is a Certified IATF-16949 Cast Polyurethane Company

You might not be aware of it, but here at Poly-Tek, we proudly adhere to the IATF-16949 quality standard in all facets of our molding and manufacturing processes. This includes our rubber molding division and our cast polyurethane division. Although IATF-16949 is a global quality management system standard for the automotive industry, it is also an integral part of everything we do.

IATF 16949 incorporates the requirements of the ISO 9001 quality management system standard along with additional requirements that are specific to our automotive customers. Here are the highlights:

What is IATF-16949?

As mentioned, IATF-16949 is the leading international standard for Quality Management Systems for the automotive industry.  It was developed by the International Automotive Task Force (IATF), with support from the Automotive Industry Action Group (AIAG). AIAG is a not-for-profit organization that was created to help improve quality for North American automotive manufactures.

The IATF-16949 standard requires certification by a 3rd party auditor. Here are some of their significant areas of emphasis:

  • Waste reduction
  • Product safety
  • Continuous improvement
  • Defect prevention
  • Risk management
  • Contingency planning
  • Requirements for embedded software
  • Change and warranty management
  • Management of sub-tier suppliers

Why is IATF 16949 so critical?

IATF-16949 is used in conjunction with ISO 9001. It contains supplemental requirements specific to the automotive industry and is not a stand-alone Quality Management System (QMS). It incorporates standards from across the U.S. and Europe, detailing everything our organization needs to know about the best practices for designing, developing, and manufacturing automotive parts.

Because it is an international standard, IATF-16949 helps Poly-Tek to ensure the satisfaction of its customers no matter where they are located. And many companies demand it as a minimum requirement for us to be a supplier.

Since we are auditing our processes, and the certification body is auditing us, our customers do not have to check on our company themselves.

What are the components of IATF-16949?

The IATF 16949 structure is divided into multiple sections. Here are the seven primary parts that cover the requirements for the Quality Management System:

Context of the organization: This section requires the organization to determine its context in terms of the Quality Management System. Who are the interested parties? What are their needs and expectations? The section also defines the requirements for determining the extent of the QMS and contains some general QMS requirements.

Leadership: This part of the standard is requiring management to show leadership and commitment to the QMS and to define corporate responsibility and the quality policy. Top management must assign process owners, along with other roles and responsibilities.
Planning: Here, the requirements for addressing risks and opportunities, along with the requirements for risk analysis, are defined. This section also discusses the requirements for preventive actions, contingency plans, and quality objectives and the plans to achieve them.

Support: This clause speaks to the requirements for the resources and supporting processes needed for an effective QMS. It defines the requirements for the following: people, infrastructure, work environment, monitoring and measuring resources, organizational knowledge, competence, awareness, communication, and documented information.

Operation: This product requirements section deals with all aspects of the planning and creation of the product. It focuses on planning, product requirements review, design, purchasing, creating the product or service, and controlling the equipment used to monitor and measure our product.

Performance evaluation: This section is designed to ensure that we can monitor whether our QMS is functioning correctly. It includes assessing customer satisfaction, internal audits, monitoring products and processes, and management review.

Improvement: The final section of the standard defines the requirements for continual improvement of the QMS. This part includes elements for nonconformities and corrective actions, problem-solving, and error-proofing processes.

Here at Poly-Tek, we use all of these sections to drive and maintain the improvements within our processes.